Tinubu Requests Senate Confirmation for 11 Supreme Court Justices

Bola Tinubu has officially forwarded the names of eleven justices of the Supreme Court to the Senate for the required screening and confirmation process.

The president’s request was communicated through a letter addressed to the President of the Senate, Godswill Akpabio, and presented during the plenary session on Wednesday, December 20.

READ ALSO: 2024 Budget: Senate Orders Police to Compel CAC Registrar’s Appearance Within 24 Hours

In the letter, Tinubu indicated that the submission aligns with the provisions of section 231(2) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended). The nominated justices, proposed for confirmation and subsequent appointment to the nation’s highest court, include:

  1. Justices Jummai Sankey
  2. Stephen Adah
  3. Mohammed Idris
  4. Haruna Tsammani
  5. Jamilu Tukur
  6. Abubakar Umar
  7. Chidiebere Uwa
  8. Chioma Nwosu-Iheme
  9. Obande Ogbuinya
  10. Moore Adumein
  11. Habeeb Abiru