UPDATED: “UAE Has Not Lifted Visa Ban On Nigeria,” Says Presidency

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) has not yet lifted the visa ban on Nigeria, says Presidency.

Contrary to reports claiming that the ban had been lifted, Bayo Onanuga, the Special Adviser on Information and Strategy to the President, has refuted the claims.

Onanuga posted on his X handle on Tuesday evening that “UAE has not resumed visa issuance to Nigerians. The document in circulation is not authorised either by the Nigerian government or the UAE,”

Following the move, the country’s authorities issued a notice to travel agents and trade partners to reject all applications.

READ ALSO: More Than 70 Children Missing in Mozambique Jihadist Attacks

In October 2022, the UAE banned citizens from approximately 20 African nations from entering its borders.

Among the affected countries are Nigeria, Uganda, Ghana, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Cameroon, Liberia, Burundi, Republic of Guinea, Gambia, Togo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Senegal, Benin, Ivory Coast, Congo, Rwanda, Burkina Faso, Guinea Bissau, Comoros, and the Dominican Republic.