Family of Late Nollywood Icon Mr Ibu Announces Burial Plan

Mr Ibu

The family of the late Nollywood veteran actor, John Okafor, popularly known as Mr Ibu, has unveiled the burial arrangements for the beloved entertainer.

According to the announcement jointly signed by Elder Sunday Okafor (Mr Ibu’s elder brother) and Mr Ibu’s immediate family, the burial is scheduled to take place on June 28 in his hometown of Amuri, Nkanu West Local Government Area of Enugu State.

The statement reads, “The Okafor family in Eziokwe Amuri, Nkanu West LGA in Enugu State wishes to honour the loving memory of our hero and a legend John Ikechukwu Okafor who even in death has left a legacy of love, laughter and liveliness.

“We would appreciate your esteemed presence as we lay to rest our son, husband, father, grandfather,brother, uncle and in-law on the 28th of June 2024.

“Kindly join us as we share the best and last moments with our icon,” the statement added.

The five-day ceremony will commence on June 25 with a high-profile novelty match, followed by “Mr Ibu’s Night” on June 26, featuring a candlelight procession and live entertainment. A Christian Wake-Keep will be held on June 27, with the funeral service on June 28.

The burial committee will be chaired by Hon. Monday Diamond Ani.

The family expressed their desire for the public to join them in honoring the memory of Mr Ibu, who brought pride to his home community, Enugu State, and Africa through his remarkable contributions to the entertainment industry.

READ ALSO: Nigerian Dancer Korra Obidi Suffers Acid and Knife Attack in UK

Some of the members of the burial committee include; Dame Ugochi Madueke, Hon Commissioner for Culture and Tourism Enugu State (Member); Mr Emeka Rollas, National President Actors Guild of Nigeria (Member); Nkem Owoh (Member); Patience Ozokwor (Member); Steve Ebo “Ajibo” (Member).

Others are: Chukwuma Ephraim Okenwa (Member); Brown Eneh, Enugu State Chairman AGN (Member); AB Cowboy, Christiana Ozioma Ejioofor (Secretary); Chief Frank Obasi “Toscana Hotel” (Member); Chief Alexander Nwokeabia “Ejiamatu” (Member); Chief John Onwubuya (Member); Fred Bright (Member) and Mathew Aniemeka (Member).